Journey to INSEAD

A Nigerian's journey to the Business School for the World

Updates!!!

Tick, tock, tick…the countdown to January 7, 2016 when orientation week kicks off. Been a tiring but rewarding journey so far and I really can’t wait to start off at INSEAD. I’ve been able to tick some things off my B-school checklist but there is still a whole lot to be done.

What has been done:

  1. Sorted out funding for the whole year at INSEAD- most important on the list!
  2. Discussed with my boss already on my MBA plans. Was able to reach an agreement on getting a leave of absence from work for 2016 (just throwing in the safety net here)
  3. Purchased a 13″ Macbook Air for the program. Was an easy decision- Apple rules!
  4. Concluded my preliminary interview with Campus France. Waiting to be scheduled for Biometrics and submission.
  5. Renewed my US visitors visa. About to do same for UK
  6. Secured a cheap accommodation for the year (I will dedicate a whole blogpost to my daunting experience trying to make a reservation at Marcel Lods…more on that later)
  7. Budgeted for INSEAD travels!

What’s left undone:

  1. Submission of visa application documents. Not yet scheduled by CF, an hour flight away from my location.
  2. Flight ticket purchase (can’t wait till Christmas when costs would have sky-rocketed)
  3. Enrolling for an alternative to the business foundations course.
  4. Decide on MBAcars OR buying a used car in France (please help!!! Totally ignorant of how this works in France. Online reviews are not encouraging)
  5. Secure more visas, especially for SEA countries. Might be easier doing this while in Singapore.
  6. Meet the exit language requirement- Exam scheduled for 9th December. Wish this was earlier!
  7. Stil searching for internship opportunities for next year.

So, recently, I have been trying to decide on if it would be worthwhile doing the Wharton exchange in P4/P5. As fantastic as the idea may sound, I am disappointed that the ROI for me would be quite low. Don’t get me wrong- the INSEAD Wharton Alliance is a great concept and definitely gives students in these two top B schools the opportunity to experience B-school life in a different continent and expand their networks. But while INSEAD is undoubtedly more international in nature, Wharton is a more finance¬†focused B-school and being part of a bigger university system, has more resources than INSEAD.

But looking at the cost implications (higher housing/living cost in Philly, travel costs to the US), I would rather spend P4&P5 in Singy. I also do not have a keen interest in working in the US after my MBA, so I would save my bidding points for a P4/P5 blast in Singapore.

So the picture is clearer now. Back to work…

3 comments on “Updates!!!

  1. Anonymous
    January 2, 2016

    Hi Mr. Nigerian,

    Your story has given me lot of hope. (Grace)
    I wish you all the luck for your future.
    And thank you friend keep posting

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren Petroski
    January 3, 2017

    Heyo! I’m looking at Marcel Lods but can’t find your post on booking with them! Can you direct me?

    Like

  3. Aayush Surana
    March 20, 2017

    Hi, Just wanted to request if you can please help us out with a post on how to make a booking at Marcel Lods? A bunch of us 18Js have been desperately trying ! Would be a great help – thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
